With the Region SUD Prize, Art-o-rama offers each year a visibility to the young creation coming from the Art Schools of the SUD region, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur.


Since the beginning, the fair is committed to contribute to the professionalization of these young artists and allows them to meet different actors of the artistic scene – curators, gallery owners, critics, collectors…..


The Show-room section highlights the work of 4 young artists selected by an invited curator. Each one has a 4x4m exhibition space within the fair. Their artistic proposals are accompanied by the curator who also produces a critical text on each project. The curator introduces the works to the galleries and publishers present at the Art-o-rama opening, who were invited to vote for the winner of the Region SUD Prize of the year.


The laureate of the Region SUD Prize will become the guest artist of the following edition and will benefit from an exhibition space in Art-o-rama’s main section, a production grant of €2000, the publication of a catalogue and two months of production within the Moly-Sabata Artists’ Residence / Albert Gleizes Foundation.


The Region SUD Prize often provides the artists a first experience in an international commercial environment and allows galleries participating in Art-o-rama to discover artists trained in our region.

The FCAC (Fonds Communal d’Art Contemporain de la Ville de Marseille) also commits itself each year to the acquisition of at least one of the works of an artist from the Show-room.


Applications are to be sent by email before JANUARY 31ST, 2020: to contact@art-o-rama.fr with a pdf portfolio (not exceeding 15 pages) that includes:


> a biography / bibliography
> a text describing your practice
> captioned images


Please note: All application documents must be submitted in English.

Show-room 2020’s curator

Tiago de Abreu Pinto

Curator and writer Tiago de Abreu Pinto’s recent projects are focused on art-writing by means of storytelling through the medium of the novel.

Tiago de Abreu Pinto (Brazil, 1984) is an independent curator (Ph.D Art History, Complutense University of Madrid). Recent exhibitions curated by de Abreu Pinto include Amanhã à primeira luz, Casa Triângulo (São Paulo, Brasil, 2019); Below Blue Horizon, Rodriguez Gallery (Poznan, Poland, 2019); Armando Andrade Tudela, Nicolás Lamas and Sergio Verastegui, Salón (Madrid, Spain, 2017); Notes for a Shell. Art-O-Rama (Marseille, France, 2017); Proteo. Tasman Projects, collection of Fernando Panizo & Dorothy Neary (Madrid, Spain, 2017); A spear, a spike, a point, a nail, a drip, a drop, the end of the tale. Ellen de Brujine Projects (Amsterdam, Netherlands, 2015); Meditaremos em silêncio a diferença entre nós. Nogueras Blanchard (Madrid, Spain, 2015);


He is the author of various short novels and fiction pieces such as Terral: Ivan Grilo. São Paulo: Familia, 2019; Below Blue Horizon: Sreshta Rit Premnath. Poznan: Rodriguez, 2019;El enemigo de adentro/El enemigo de afuera: María Sosa. Ciudad de México: Parque, 2019 (co-author Dorothée Dupuis); Proteus. Madrid: Tasman Projects, 2018; Biblioteca Sin Títulos (Library without Titles). Madrid: Reina Sofia Museum Library, Centre d’Art Santa Mònica and La Casa Encendida, 2017; Notes for a Shell. Marseille: More Projects, 2017; This is Art Now vol.1. Madrid: Cristina Garrido, 2013. Tiago de Abreu Pinto is the curator of Opening at ARCO Madrid 2020 and N.A.S at Art Rotterdam 2020.

2020 Guest Artist


Region SUD Prize’s 2019 laureate is mountaincutters, a hybrid entity, that graduated from the École Supérieure d’Art et de Design de Marseille Méditerranée, Marseille and is based in Brussels. Since 2013, it has been acting as a full-fledged artistic organism-environment, developing mainly site-specific projects through various contamination processes. Its work often takes the form of ephemeral modules, active the time of the exhibition whose components are made from unprocessed raw materials such as iron, steel, clay, copper, lead, paper or glass. Some will then be reworked and will reappear during the development of future installations.

Furiosa, 2019.

Previous Guest Artists

  • 2019 Jonathan Vidal
  • 2018 Delphine Wibaux
  • 2017 Sabrina Belouaar
  • 2016 Rafaela Lopez
  • 2015 Vincent Ceraudo
  • 2014 Sergio Verastegui
  • 2013 Yann Gerstberger
  • 2012 Caroline Duchatelet
  • 2011 Sandro Della Noce
  • 2010 Pascal Martinez
  • 2009 Émilie Perotto
  • 2008 Julien Bouillon
  • 2007 Arnaud Maguet et Olivier Millagou