Gallery

Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Razvan Botis, Anca Branzas, Stefano Calligaro, Aline Cautis, Radu Comşa, Joe Fietcher Orr, Nona Inescu, Vlad Nanca, Pepo Salazar

Anca BrânzaȘ

Still life with lead soldier (2017)
oil on canvas
121 x 100 cm
Courtesy : Sabot,Cluj-Napoca

RĂzvan BotiȘ

Vase I (2016)
glazed ceramic (metal oxid glaze)
Courtesy : Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Stefano Calligaro

Ha-Da ‘U Da “Ha (2016)
acrylic on canvas
70 x 50 cm
Courtesy : Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Stefano Calligaro

MISS ITALIA (2018)
UV print on canvas, various sizes

Nona Inescu

Lodger (Hypothetical Ancestral Mollusc) (2018)

Vlad Nanca

Sculpture of to-day (2018)
digitally inverted B&W photograph of the first page of ‘Sculpture of to-day’ by Stanley Casson

"AESTIVAL BAZAAR"

Paintings, sculptures, video works, bric-a-bracs by nine of Sabot’s artists are brought together so as to create a colourful, eclectic and texturally diverse display evoking the visual profuseness and heterogeneity of a bazaar.

The chosen works open up a spirited conversation between abstraction and realism, rough and smooth surfaces, soft and hard materials, structured forms and anti-forms, while redesigning the ‘commonplace’ as a place for transfiguration, where mere things are taught to produce awe.

A laboratory, an incubator, a research tentacle, Sabot acts equally as a curator, a producer, and a habitat. This time, their project mimics all these distinct attitudes while inviting the artists to use Sabot as a meeting place where multiple languages (on multiple tones) can be spoken at once.

Galerie

Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Razvan Botis, Anca Branzas, Stefano Calligaro, Aline Cautis, Radu Comşa, Joe Fietcher Orr, Nona Inescu, Vlad Nanca, Pepo Salazar

Anca BrânzaȘ

Still life with lead soldier (2017)
oil on canvas
121 x 100 cm
Courtesy : Sabot,Cluj-Napoca

RĂzvan BotiȘ

Vase I (2016)
glazed ceramic (metal oxid glaze)
Courtesy : Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Stefano Calligaro

Ha-Da ‘U Da “Ha (2016)
acrylique sur toile
70 x 50 cm
Courtesy : Sabot, Cluj-Napoca

Stefano Calligaro

MISS ITALIA (2018)
impression UV sur toile, différentes tailles 

Nona Inescu

Lodger (Hypothetical Ancestral Mollusc) (2018)

Vlad Nanca

Sculpture of to-day (2018)
photographie N/B de la première page de ‘Sculpture of to-day’ de Stanley Casson, inversée numériquement

« AESTIVAL BAZAAR »

Peintures, sculptures, vidéos et autre bric-à-brac de neuf artistes de la galerie roumaine Sabot sont réunis pour créer un ensemble coloré, éclectique et de textures diverses évoquant la profusion visuelle et hétérogène du bazar.

Les œuvres choisies invitent à une conversation animée entre abstraction et réalisme, surfaces rugueuses et lisses, matériaux mous et durs, formes structurées et anti-formes, tout en reconceptualisant le « lieu commun » comme lieu de transfiguration, où des choses simples produisent de l’émerveillement.

Un laboratoire, un incubateur, une tentacule de recherche, la galerie Sabot est à la fois un commissaire d’exposition, un producteur et un lieu de vie. Cette année, son projet active toutes ces fonctions et invite les artistes à utiliser la galerie comme lieu de rencontre où des langages multiples (ou tons multiples) peuvent être parlés en même temps.