Gallery

Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

Rebecca Ann Tess

Rebecca Ann Tess

Template Selection #1, 2016
Pigment inkjet print, steel framed
58.5 x 39 cm (59.5 x 40 cm framed)
Courtesy Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

Rebecca Ann Tess

Port Grimaud I, II, III, 2015
Pigment inkjet print, set of three
70,8 x 65,2 cm each
Courtesy Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

The Philipp von Rosen gallery have a strong interest in video art and therefore work with and co-produce artists such as Corinna Schnitt, Javier Téllez, Rebecca Ann Tess, or Judi Werthein.
With Alpha++ Rebecca Ann Tess presents architecture as a representation of wealth, power, and influence.

For The Tallest she took photographs of the world‘s tallest buildings. This material has been consolidated to a filmic experience of the buildings and their characteristical smooth surfaces. Shots along the facades show the buildings detached from their bases and their surroundings. The hyperrealistic impression of the architecture is intensified by a narrative spoken by a computer-generated voice. Described superlatives demonstrate the indefatigable global competition about the title‚ The Tallest.

The 7 photographs of the series "Template Selection" strengthen the impression of buildings as detached, inhuman, objectified beings that rather work as signs of dominance in an urban context than as inhabitable architectures.

Port Grimaud I II III shows 75 houses designed by François Spoerry as an exclusive residential estate in France. Port Grimaud is a postmodern, planned city. Each house of the estate has been planned along the traditional Mediterranean building type following an individual ground plan, constructed in concrete. However, the individuality is in fact a planned "individuality".

Upper shows the towers of San Gimignano a.k.a. "medieval Manhattan". They did not serve as fortifications of the city, but had rather been erected by the merchants as a sign of prosperity and power. The towers are shown in segments, rigorously formal and from below. Minimal movements of birds, clouds, or persons let the images shift between photograph and moving image. Upper‘s soundscape detaches the towers from their historic and urban context. Seemingly original urban sounds mix with the chirping of crickets.

Galerie

Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

Rebecca Ann Tess

Rebecca Ann Tess

Template Selection #1, 2016
jet d'encre pigmentaire, cadre en acier
58,5 x 39 cm (59,5 x 40 cm encadré)
Courtesy Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

Rebecca Ann Tess

Port Grimaud I, II, III, 2015
Jet d'encre pigmentaire, série de trois
70,8 x 65,2 cm chacune
Courtesy Philipp von Rosen, Cologne

La galerie allemande Philipp von Rosen s’intéresse fortement à l’art vidéo, c’est donc à ce titre qu’elle a choisi de travailler et de co-produire des artistes tels que Corinna Schmitt, Javier Téllez, Rebecca Ann Tess ou encore Judi Wertheim.

Dans Alpha ++, l’architecture est pour Rebecca Ann Tess un symbole de richesse, de pouvoir et d’influence. Pour The Tallest, elle a photographié les plus hauts immeubles du monde. Les différentes prises de vue de la façade des immeubles nous donnent l’impression que ceux-ci semblent se détacher à la fois de leur base et du décor. L’illusion hyper-réaliste de l’architecture est intensifiée par le récit dicté par une voix de synthèse. Le superlatif utilisé dans le titre de l’œuvre, quant à lui, met en évidence l’existence d’une concurrence mondiale infatigable.

Dans la série "Port Grimaud I II III", Rebecca Ann Tess a photographié 75 maisons conçues par François Spoerry dans un lotissement résidentiel huppé de la cité lacustre de Port Grimaud. Port Grimaud est une ville post-moderne et planifiée. Dans ce lotissement, chaque maison a été imaginée selon le modèle méditerranéen traditionnel dont le rez-de-chaussée individuel est construit en béton. Cependant, cette individualité est en réalité une individualité "planifiée".

Upper représente les tours de San Gimignano, considérées comme le "Manhattan de l’époque médiévale". En réalité, ces tours ne servaient pas de fortifications. Erigées par des marchands, elles étaient davantage un symbole de richesse et de pouvoir. Les tours de San Gimignano apparaissent tels des segments, rigoureusement formelles et observées en contre-plongée. Le mouvement à peine perceptible des oiseaux, des nuages et des personnes produit un effet qui permet d’osciller entre photographie et image en mouvement. Le paysage sonore qui prend forme dans Upper éloigne ces tours de leur contexte historique et urbain. Les sons caractéristiques au monde urbain se mêlent au chant des cigales.