TALKS

Talks organized by the Fondation d'entreprise Ricard.
Curated and moderated by Cédric Aurelle

Hours

Saturday 26 August at 3:30 PM
Sunday 27 August at 4:00 PM
La Cartonnerie / outside Lounge

ART-O-RAMA and the Fondation d’entreprise Ricard are happy to announce their  first ever collaboration in the organisation of a unique series of talks conceived and moderated by Cédric Aurelle. Cédric Aurelle, French art critic based in Paris and Marseilles, will continue his investigation on the themes of polarisation and the emergence of new contemporary art scenes.
 

Marseille(s)?

In French, Marseille is in the singular, a singular without singularities. However, the mosaic offered by the city to its visitors could not be reduced to the singleness of one proposition. Could there be several "Marseille(s)" as the English translation seems to induce? Indeed, in the globalized language the city takes on a plural "s" and becomes Marseilles. Could this plural give a better understanding of this urban kaleidoscope which importance and complexity come from a history of migrations, humans and goods trade, and colonisation?

This oscillation between a hegemonic singular and a plural kaleidoscope is the background to ART-O-RAMA’s talks. The series of talks will address the art market and art history mechanisms of dominant narratives production and, within them, the position of divergent forms that deal with issues of gender, race, and post-colonialism. Will also be addressed the way some places — by means of their specificities — build their own diversity against centralizing projects.

 

Saturday 26 August
3:30 PM

Introduction by Colette Barbier, director of the Fondation d'entreprise Ricard followed by "3 questions to Vincent Lamouroux" on the occasion of "New Runway", solo show at the Friche la Belle de Mai's Panorama.
 

Saturday 26 August
4:00 PM

The Art Market between Feminism and Decolonialism

With Françoise Vergès, Isabelle Alfonsi, and Julien Creuzet.

For several years now, new forms and voices have been emerging within a globalized art market which context is not exclusively male, white, and Western. By offering visibility to forms and narratives that diverge from the dominant model, can art market and history secure a framework that does not reproduce domination patterns inherited from colonial thinking?

What are the mechanisms of power that enable the appearance of new forms?
How do dominant narratives deal with digressive proposals? Can an emancipating project resist its recycling into a product by the market?


Sunday 27 August
4:00 PM

 

South(s) as a State of Mind

With Marie-Ann Yemsi, Sumeshwar Sharma, and Charlotte Cosson & Emmanuelle Luciani.

The contemporary world cannot be thought anymore from the perspective of one or several hegemonic centers with peripheries and satellites. South(s), in this perspective, cannot be considered as vessel(s) of a world organized from the hegemonic North. Based on the historical Non-Aligned model, this talk aims to address Africa as its own center and holder of its own utopia as well as Marseilles and its undeniable southern roots, enabling us to apprehend the world in its space-time wholeness while cultivating the city’s genius.

DISCUSSIONS

Discussions organisées par la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard.
Conception et modération : Cédric Aurelle

Horaires

Samedi 26 août à 15h30
Dimanche 27 août à 16h
La Cartonnerie / espace extérieur Lounge

ART-O-RAMA et la Fondation d’entreprise Ricard sont heureux d’annoncer leur première collaboration dans l’organisation d’un programme de discussions conçu et modéré par le critique d'art français Cédric Aurelle. Cédric Aurelle, critique d’art français basé à Paris et Marseille, poursuivra ainsi ses recherches autour des questions de la polarisation et de l’émergence des nouvelles scènes dans l’art contemporain.

Marseille(s) ?

Marseille en français s’énonce au singulier, un singulier sans singularités. Or la mosaïque que la ville offre à son observateur peine à trouver sa réduction dans l’unicité d’une proposition. Y aurait-il donc plusieurs Marseilles, comme le laisse entendre sa traduction en anglais ? Marseille en langage globalisé prend en effet un s, elle devient plurielle, elle devient des Marseilles. Peut-être ce pluriel restitue-t-il mieux le kaléidoscope urbain dont l’importance et la complexité sont le produit de l’histoire des migrations, du commerce des hommes et des choses, de la colonisation ?
Cette oscillation entre un singulier hégémonique et un pluriel de kaléidoscope sert de toile de fond aux conversations d’Artorama. On y interrogera le marché et l’histoire de l’art, leurs mécanismes de production de récits dominantes, la place qu’y occupent des formes divergentes en prise avec des questions de genre, de race et de post-colonialisme, mais aussi comment les lieux par leur spécificité génèrent leur propre diversité à rebours de projets centralisateurs.
 

Samedi 26 août 2017
15h30
Mot d'introduction de Colette Barbier, directrice de la Fondation d'entreprise Ricard suivi de "3 questions à Vincent Lamouroux" à l'occasion de "New Runway", exposition monographique au Panorama de la Friche la Belle de Mai.
 

Samedi 26 août 2017
16h

Le marché de l’art entre féminisme et dé-colonialisme

Avec Françoise Vergès, Isabelle Alfonsi et Julien Creuzet

Avec la globalisation du marché de l’art, de nombreuses formes et voix nouvelles apparaissent depuis plusieurs années dans un contexte qui n’est plus exclusivement masculin, blanc et occidental. En offrant de la visibilité à des récits et formes divergentes des modèles dominants, le marché et l’histoire de l’art peuvent-ils garantir un cadre qui ne reproduise des schémas de domination hérités de la pensée coloniale.
Quels sont les mécanismes de pouvoir permettant l’apparition de ces formes nouvelles ? Comment les récits dominants s’accommodent-ils de propositions digressives ? Un projet émancipateur peut-elle résister à son recyclage en marchandise par le marché ?
 

Dimanche 27 août 2017
16h

Le(s) Sud(s) comme état d’esprit

Avec Marie-Ann Yemsi, Sumeshwar Sharma et Charlotte Cosson & Emmanuelle Luciani

Le monde contemporain ne peut plus être pensé depuis un ou plusieurs centres hégémoniques articulés à des périphéries et satellites. Le(s) Sud(s), dans cette perspective ne peu(ven)t plus être considérés comme vassaux d’un monde organisé depuis un Nord hégémonique. Une conversation qui s’appuie sur le modèle historique des non alignés, interroge une Afrique envisagée comme son propre centre et porteur de sa propre utopie pour revenir vers une Marseille ancrée dans un territoire résolument méridional permettant d’envisager le monde dans sa globalité spatio-temporelle tout en cultivant le génie du lieu.