SHOW-ROOM 2017

Alice Guittard
Alice Guittard

Biçak seven kadin, 2017
print on tarpaulin
40 x 60 cm
Courtesy the artist

Can striking out to hitchhike with no idea of where you are going generate art? In 2012, Alice Guittard stuck out her thumb in Iceland, holding a sign that said "Alveg sama", literally "it doesn’t matter". The experience led her to Arnarstapi, the starting point of Jules Verne’s adventure story "Journey to the Center of the Earth". She captured various aspects of her journey in the form of photographs taken only at night, then published them in a work she entitled "Your Country does not Exist".

Her travels, the random situations she has provoked and experienced in all corners of the globe have given the artist the raw material for work ceaselessly composed of plays on words, analogies, slippage. Work that is full of editions, images, texts, sculpture and above all experiments. Her work compresses her adventures into a magic capsule of tales. Entering her work means accepting – a bit like in House of Leaves (1) – that the content is paradoxically larger than the what contains it.

Her latest experiments explore the symbolic dimension of stone and fragments of marble slabs on which Alice Guittard has transferred black and white photographs. The images that come into existence embrace the snags and random roughness of the mineral surface, creating visual ellipses that could be the equivalent of micro-poems in dialogue with the exhibition space. It’s up to us to follow the paths between each of her works in a given territory. The path can be short if you are feeling lazy, it can be infinite if we give it our trust, so necessary to the artist. Regardless, the randomness of peregrination and semantic wanderings, even in a closed space, opens immense landscapes.


(1) Mark Z. Danielewski, House of Leaves, Ed. Denoël, 2002.

SHOW-ROOM 2017

Alice Guittard
Alice Guittard

Biçak seven kadin, 2017
impression su bâche
40 x 60 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste

Faire de l’autostop sans connaître par avance l’endroit où l’on va, cela peut-il produire de l’art ? En 2012, Alice Guittard s’est aventurée en Islande, munie d’un panneau sur lequel était écrit « Alveg sama », littéralement : "peu importe". Cette expérience l’a portée jusqu’à Arnarstapi, le point de départ du Voyage au centre de la Terre de Jules Verne. Elle consigna certains éléments de cette aventure sous la forme de photographies qui furent réalisées uniquement la nuit, puis publiées ensuite dans un ouvrage qu’elle intitula « Votre pays n’existe pas ».

Tous ces voyages, aux hasards provoqués et vécus aux quatre coins du monde, donnent à l’artiste la matière première d’une œuvre qui est sans cesse faite de glissements, de jeux sur les mots et d’analogies, une œuvre pleine d’éditions, d’images, de textes, de sculptures et surtout d’expériences. Ses aventures s'y compriment à la façon d’un conte encapsulé dans un objet magique. Ouvrir ses oeuvres c’est accepter -un peu comme dans La Maison des feuilles (1)- que le contenu soit paradoxalement plus grand que son contenant.

Ses dernières expérimentations explorent la dimension symbolique des pierres et de fragments de plaques de marbre sur lesquelles Alice Guittard transfère des photographies noires et blanches. Les images qui s’y reconstituent épousent les accidents et les heureuses surprises de la surface minérale, pour créer comme des ellipses visuelles, qui pourraient être l’équivalent de micro-poèmes dialoguant entre eux dans l’espace d’exposition. C’est à nous de prendre le chemin qui sépare chacune de ses pièces dans un même territoire: il peut être court selon que l’on soit porté par la paresse, ou infini si l’on offre notre confiance, nécessaire à l’artiste. Quoi qu’il en soit, il s’agit toujours de provoquer les hasards de la pérégrination et de la migration sémantique qui, même en milieu fermé, ouvre d’immenses paysages.

Gaël Charbau
(1) Mark Z. Danielewski, La Maison des feuilles, Ed. Denoël, 2002.