Gallery

Martos, New York|Los Angeles

Zoe Barcza, Martin Kersels

Zoe Barcza

Vue d'exposition Texas Liquid Smoke (detail)
Loyal Gallery, Stockholm
Courtesy Loyal Gallery

Zoe Barcza

Exhibtion view «Texas Liquid Smoke» : Erotic Maze Painting (Face, Ear, and Little Bird), 2016
Acrylic on canvas
165 x 130 cm
Courtesy Loyal Gallery, Stockholm

Martin Kersels

Tumble Room, 2001
Exhibition Under Destruction, Museum Tinguely, Basel
Mixed media
460 x 300 x 300 cm
Courtesy Martin Kersels

Martin Kersels

Headache, 2008
Mixed media
307,3 x 228,6 x 142,2 cm
Courtesy Mitchell-Innes & Nash

Weird and gay, noisy and silent, making us laugh, annoyed or forcing us to reflect, the works presented by Manuel Scano Larrazàbal, Dorian Gaudin, Martin Kersels and Zoe Barcza extend, without knowing or realising, the Dada adventure, while still possessing two common features: machine and thought.

While Martin Kersels gradually deconstructs a domestic interior, Zoe Barcza questions the fertilisation industry; Dorian Gaudin undertakes constructions like tectonic plates, and Manuel Scano Larrazàbal offers an ephemeral installation the opportunity to create a work in Marseille. These works, reflections of their time, blur all understandings between the work of the artist, the work as engineer and the profane work. These different forms of artistic expression, some ironical, others dissenting, or simply poetical, all translate current questionings: is society aware of its self-destructiveness and its fragility? Have human beings forgotten the brevity of their own existence and their ineluctable fate? Will Man be replaced by the machine?

While Manuel Scano Larrazàbal’s fragile and ephemeral drawing machine – which could be called a Meta-Tinguely – tries with delicacy and grace, stroke after stroke, to elaborate a work on paper, Martin Kersels’ video shows a fully furnished room – adorned with all the modern habitat’s paraphernalia – turning in circles on itself, inexorably going, with the regularity of a metronome, towards self-destruction. Following the same tempo, the first is a machine that creates, the second a machine that destroys; both balance and ironically answer each other through their antagonistic actions.

Simultaneously, Dorian Gaudin confronts the machine to its utility, giving it, through his installations, a movement making it able to restlessly look for – with or without free will – the function for which it was created, or the meaning it represents. Similar to the tectonic plates confronting each other and creating mountains through their collision, the wall sculptures presented at ART-O-RAMA are the result of a space restriction imposed by the artist on the material which then contorts itself, thus forming an imaginary and colourful landscape possessing its own language

Zoe Barcza presents a metallic shelf, a mundane display unit or a storage accessory, on which a few almost fossilised sperms are flaunting themselves while waiting to be selected, the way we would choose to adopt an abandoned dog in an animal shelter or an orphan on a catalogue. In a humorous way, the artist mocks the human reproduction (and decline) machine, while questioning the dangers of a new fertilisation business where man and woman don’t need to meet anymore, nor does the sperm need to travel through the labyrinth-like feminine den to give life.

Terrorists, provocative, iconoclasts, refusing any ideological, moral, or artistic constraints, these works extol spontaneity and attempt, through the energy they release, to become expressive tools for investigation.

Galerie

Martos, New York|Los Angeles

Zoe Barcza, Martin Kersels

Zoe Barcza

Exhibition view Texas Liquid Smoke (detail)
Loyal Gallery, Stockholm
Courtesy Loyal Gallery

Zoe Barcza

Exhibtion view «Texas Liquid Smoke» : Erotic Maze Painting (Face, Ear, and Little Bird), 2016
Acrylique sur toile
165 x 130 cm
Courtesy Loyal Gallery, Stockholm

Martin Kersels

Tumble Room, 2001
Exposition Under Destruction, Museum Tinguely, Bâle
Techniques mixtes
460 x 300 x 300 cm
Courtesy Martin Kersels

Martin Kersels

Headache, 2008
Techniques mixtes
307,3 x 228,6 x 142,2 cm
Courtesy Mitchell-Innes & Nash

Gaies et bizarres, bruyantes et silencieuses, devant lesquelles on peut rire, s’énerver ou songer, les œuvres présentées par Manuel Scano Larrazàbal, Dorian Gaudin, Martin Kersels et Zoe Barcza prolongent sans en avoir ni l’intention ni la conscience, l’aventure Dada, tout en revê- tant deux dénominateurs communs : la machine et la réflexion.

Tandis que Martin Kersels déconstruit progressivement un intérieur domestique, Zoe Barcza s’interroge sur l’industrie de la fécondation, Dorian Gaudin construit à la manière des plaques tectoniques, et Manuel Scano Larrazàbal donne à une installation éphémère l’opportunité de créer une œuvre à Marseille.

Reflet de leur temps, ces œuvres brouillent toutes les pistes entre travail d’artiste, travail d’ingénieur et travail profane. Ironiques pour certaines, contestataires pour d’autres, ou simplement poétiques, ces différentes formes d’expression artistique traduisent toutes des questionnements actuels : la société a-t-elle conscience de son auto-destructivité et de sa fragilité ? L’être humain a-t-il oublié la brièveté de son existence et l’inéluctabilité de son sort ? La machine va-t-elle enterrer l’Homme ?

Tandis que la machine à dessiner de Manuel Scano Larrazàbal, fragile et éphémère que l’on pourrait aussi qualifier de Méta-Tinguely, s’efforce trait après trait, avec délicatesse et gracilité, d’élaborer une œuvre sur papier, la vidéo de Martin Kersels donne à voir une pièce meublée – revêtant tous les aspects propres à un habitat moderne- qui tourne en rond, allant inexorablement, avec la régularité d’un métronome, jusqu’à sa complète démolition. Battant la même mesure, la première est une machine à créer, la seconde une machine à détruire ; et les deux s’équilibrent et se répondent ironiquement par leurs actions antagonistes.

Pendant ce temps, Dorian Gaudin confronte la machine à son utilité, lui donnant dans le cadre de ses installations, un mouvement la rendant apte à chercher inlassablement – avec ou sans libre arbitre- la fonction pour laquelle elle a été créée, ou le sens de ce qu’elle représente. À l’instar des plaques tectoniques qui se confrontent et créent les montagnes par collision, les sculptures murales présentées à Art-O-Rama sont le résultat d’une restriction de l’espace imposée par l’artiste à la matière, qui se contorsionne, composant ainsi un paysage imaginaire coloré doué de son propre langage. La sculpture choisit son nom comme elle choisit sa place dans le monde, se targuant de représenter tantôt un avion tantôt un poisson.

Zoe Barcza propose une étagère métallique, présentoir quelconque ou accessoire de rangement, sur laquelle quelques spermatozoïdes quasi-fossilisés s’offrent en spectacle en attendant patiemment d’être sélectionnés, comme on choisirait d’adopter un chien abandonné dans un refuge ou un orphelin sur catalogue. Avec humour, l’artiste tourne ainsi en dérision la machine à reproduire et (faire ?) décliner l’Homme, tout comme elle donne à réfléchir aux dérives d’un nouveau business fécond, où homme et femme n’ont plus à se rencontrer ni le spermatozoïde à parcourir le dédale de l’antre féminin pour donner la vie.

Terroristes, provocatrices, iconoclastes, refusant toute contrainte idéologique, morale ou artistique, ces œuvres prônent la spontanéité et tentent, par l’énergie qu’elles dégagent, d’être des outils expressifs qui questionnent.