Gallery

François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Davide Balula, Neïl Beloufa, Sayre Gomez

Neïl Beloufa

Scaffolding, 2015
Fiberglass, steel, outlets, plastic
240 x 160 x 55 cm
Courtesy the artist and François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Neïl Beloufa

Scaffolding, 2015
Fiberglass, resin, steel, outlets, on wheels
240 x 160 x 55 cm
Courtesy the artist and François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Sayre Gomez

Untitled Painting in Black and Cerulean, 2015
Acrylic on canvas in artist's frame
122 x 152 cm
Courtesy the artist and François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Sayre Gomez

Untitled Painting in Grey (with cat), 2014
Oil and acrylic on canvas
213 x 152 cm
Courtesy the artist and François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Davide Balula

Coloring the WiFi Network (with Strong Red), 2015
Modified router, Antenna Sculpture, Radio Waves, Digital Paint, Plastic
280 wide x 20 high x 20 depth cm
Courtesy the artist ; François Ghebaly, Los Angeles ; Frank Elbaz, Paris

Davide Balula

Coloring the WiFi Network (with Blue Gray), 2015
Modified router, Antenna Sculpture, Radio Waves, Digital Paint, Plastic
50 high x 160 wide x 40 diameter base cm
Courtesy the artist ; François Ghebaly, Los Angeles ; Frank Elbaz, Paris

For ART-O-RAMA 2016, LA-based gallery Francois Ghebaly will present a three-person show with Davide Balula, Neil Beloufa, and Sayre Gomez. Ghebaly Gallery's two French artists, Neïl Beloufa (working in Paris) and Davide Balula (working in New York) will be presented alongside Sayre Gomez, based in Los Angeles.

Neil Beloufa's practice is very much rooted in the conversation of digital communication, technology, and the tropes of filmmaking. His objects and films inform each other and often co-exist in installations like actors and props on a set. We will be exhibiting works from his 'Scaffolding' series, a new body of work consisting of large portable fiberglass walls outfitted with outlets transforming them into monolithic charging stations.

Davide Balula's work is inherently performative; paintings are created from the manipulation of primary elements such as fire, water, and the effects of time indexed onto the surface of the work. He also addresses questions about the spatial limits beyond a piece, as through Balula's 'Wifi Sculptures' in which the work is disseminated beyond its physicality through a sculptural wifi antenna.

Sayre Gomez' practice explores the ambiguous nature of communication and interpersonal exchange by means of both abstractive and representational techniques within painting, sculpture and installation. The works that will be presented are created from screen-printing appropriated imagery on to the canvas and then veiling it in layers of abstracted airbrushing techniques to blur the division between the artist's hand and what has been appropriated.

The three artists, sharing generational ties yet spanning an international landscape, will speak to the effects of technology and antiquation on the artists' process, communication, and their interdisciplinary practices.

Galerie

François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Davide Balula, Neïl Beloufa, Sayre Gomez

Neïl Beloufa

Scaffolding, 2015
Fibre de verre, acier, prises de courant, plastique
240 x 160 x 55 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste et François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Neïl Beloufa

Scaffolding, 2015
Fibre de verre, résine, acier, prises de courant, sur roues
240 x 160 x 55 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste et François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Sayre Gomez

Untitled Painting in Black and Cerulean, 2015
Acrylique sur toile dans le cadre de l'artiste
122 x 152 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste et François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Sayre Gomez

Untitled Painting in Grey (with cat), 2014
Huile sur toile
213 x 152 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste et François Ghebaly, Los Angeles

Davide Balula

Coloring the WiFi Network (with Strong Red), 2015
Routeur modifié, antenne, ondes radio , peinture numérique, plastique
280 x 20 x 20 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste ; François Ghebaly, Los Angeles ; Frank Elbaz, Paris

Davide Balula

Coloring the WiFi Network (with Blue Gray), 2015
Routeur modifié, antenne, ondes radio , peinture numérique, plastique
50 x 160 x 40 cm
Courtesy de l'artiste ; François Ghebaly, Los Angeles ; Frank Elbaz, Paris

Pour sa deuxième participation à ART-O-RAMA, la galerie californienne François Ghebaly présente une exposition de trois artistes représentés par la galerie :  les deux artistes français Davide Balula (vit et travaille à New-York) et Neïl Beloufa (vit et travaille à Paris), aux côtés de Sayre Gomez (vit et travaille à Los Angeles).

Neil Beloufa intègre dans son travail la communication digitale et la technologie au savoir faire de la réalisation cinématographique. Ses objets et ses films sont liés et co-existent sous forme d'installation, tels des acteurs et leurs accessoires sur une scène. La galerie présentera les dernières productions de la série d'œuvres intitulée "Scaffolding" et qui consiste en de grands murs en fibre de verre recouverts de prises électriques, qui les transforment en stations de recharge monolithiques.

Le caractère performatif est inhérent au travail de Davide Balula, ses peintures sont le résultat de manipulations de matières premières tels que le feu, l'eau, ou les effets du temps induits sur la surface de l'œuvre. Dans "Wifi Sculptures", l'artiste s'interroge sur les limites spatiales au-delà d'une œuvre, l'œuvre se répand au-delà de sa physicalité à travers une sculpture d'antenne wifi.

Les œuvres de Sayre Gomez explorent le caractère ambigü de la communication et des échanges interpersonnels, à travers les techniques d'abstraction et de représentation propres à la peinture, à la sculpture et à l'installation. Les œuvres qui seront présentées sont issues de l'imagerie propre aux impressions écrans. Transférées sur des toiles, elles sont ensuite voilées par plusieurs couches de peinture utilisant les techniques de la peinture abstraite, afin de masquer la séparation entre la main de l'artiste et l'objet de l'appropriation.

Ces trois artistes, issus de la même génération mais travaillant sur des territoires géographiques différents, traitent des effets de la technologie sur le processus de création, la communication et l'interdisciplinarité des artistes.