GUEST ARTIST 2013

Yann Gerstberger
Yann Gerstberger

Confused, 2012
Exhibition view at Alain Gutharc, Paris
Courtesy of the artist
© Aurélien Mole

Yann Gerstberger

Installation view at Galerie Alain Gutharc, Paris
2013
Courtesy of the artist
© Aurélien Mole
 

Yann Gerstberger

Installation view at Galerie Alain Gutharc, Paris
2013
Courtesy of the artist
© Aurélien Mole

Selected by last year's international exhibitors to be 2013 Guest artist, Yann Gerstberger will show new pieces inside a space specifically designed for the occasion. ART-O-RAMA will support the production of those pieces and the edition of his first monography published by éditions P.

Sculptures by Yann Gerstberger mix multi-source elements. They bear some form of cultural hybridization where traditional pieces and mass-consumption objects intersect. Those forms –presented with no apparent hierarchy- relate to production and consumption modes as foreign as distant from one another.

This semantic mix is the reflection of our current relationship with cultural productions. Indeed, everything is at reach now, or at least available for consultation, one or two clicks away. Everything appears in the same way on the screen and through the same interfaces. It is almost obvious to say that everything is decontextualized nowadays, so much the living conditions and the appearance reasons of this vernacular architecture or that tribal pattern seem erased by the canals they use to come to us.

Yann Gerstberger navigates in an environment where the disciplinary frames have lost their raison d’être. Thus, he applies the DIY statement which claimed that it only took an instrument and a few chord knowledge to become a musician. Nonetheless, Yann Gerstberger does not apply this self-production manifesto to tools but to objects. It is within his own museum, his own beliefs, and his own relationship to the world that the artist composes with the signs that are at his disposal. He seems to celebrate a form of sign autonomy within a world where customization has become a way of life.

Text by François Aubart, 2012

Yann Gerstberger - Zicatela Ding • ART-O-RAMA collection • September 2013

ARTISTE INVITÉ 2013

Yann Gerstberger
Yann Gerstberger

Confused, 2012
Vue d'exposition à la galerie Alain Gutharc, Paris
Courtesy de l'artiste
© Aurélien Mole
 

Yann Gerstberger

Vue d'exposition à la Galerie Alain Gutharc, Paris
2013
Courtesy de l'artiste
© Aurélien Mole

Yann Gerstberger

Vue d'exposition à la Galerie Alain Gutharc, Paris
2013
courtesy de l'artiste
© Aurélien Mole

Issu du Show Room 2012 et sélectionné par les galeries participantes au salon l'an dernier, la participation de Yann Gerstberger en tant qu'artiste invité 2013 se concrétisera par la mise à disposition d’un module d’exposition, une bourse de production, et l'édition de son premier catalogue monographique publié par les éditions P.


Les sculptures de Yann Gerstberger mêlent des éléments aux provenances diverses. Elles présentent une forme d'hybridation culturelle où se croisent productions traditionnelles et objets de notre culture de consommation de masse. On y trouve ainsi, sans hiérarchisation apparente, des formes liées à des modalités de fabrication et de consommation aussi étrangères qu'éloignées les unes des autres.

Ce métissage sémantique apparaît comme le reflet de notre relation actuelle aux productions culturelles. Tout est en effet désormais accessible, ou en tout cas consultable, d'un clic ou deux. Tout apparaît de la même façon à la surface de l'écran et au travers des mêmes interfaces. Dire qu'aujourd'hui tout est décontextualisé va presque de soi, tant les conditions d'existence et les raisons d'apparition de telle architecture vernaculaire ou de tel motif tribal semblent effacées par les canaux qu'ils empruntent pour parvenir jusqu'à nous.

C'est dans cet univers où les cadres disciplinaires perdent leurs raisons d'être que navigue Yann Gerstberger. Il applique ainsi les façons de faire du Do It Yourself punk qui affirmait que pour faire de la musique il suffisait d'avoir un instrument et de connaître quelques accords. Seulement cet appel à la production en autonomie, Yann Gerstberger ne l'applique pas à un outil mais à des objets. C'est donc son propre musée, sa propre croyance et sa propre relation au monde que l'artiste compose avec les signes mis à sa disposition. Il semble alors revendiquer une forme d'autonomie du signe dans un monde qui a érigé la customisation en mode de vie.



François Aubart, 2012

Yann Gerstberger - Zicatela Ding • collection ART-O-RAMA • septembre 2013