Jeanine Hofland, Amsterdam

Rebecca Digne


Installation view
© Marjolaine Turpin

For Art-O-Rama 2012 Jeanine Hofland Gallery would like to propose a diptych film installation entitled Rassembler & Fouiller (2011) by French artist Rebecca Digne (1982).

The installation consists of two life size screens (constructions within the space) and two 16mm projectors. The films, both shown in a continuous loop, show hands rappidly collecting (Rassembler) and rappidly searching (Fouiller) objects. The gestures given by both images metaphorically re-enact emotions, such as escapism, rejection and fear. Emotions that coincide with nomadism, a recurring theme within Digne’s art practice that derives from her personal history.

The artist aims at presenting both films as autonomous entities in order to set out a direct and democratic dialogue between the image, the architectural features of a space, and the viewer, to emphasize the idea of co-producing the meaning of the image via enhancing all surrounding elements.

In her brief filmic vignettes, shot in single takes on 16mm film, french artist Rebecca Digne isolates seemingly simple daily moments and transforms them into rich pictorial tableaus. Set to loop for the duration of an exhibition, the films suspend the viewer in a state that seems paradoxically infinite and elusive. Calling to mind the meditative cinematographic portraiture of Andrei Tarkovsky, Digne effectively constructs a non-temporal space for reflection - in her own words, “creating a new instance of the object”.

Galerie

Jeanine Hofland, Amsterdam

Rebecca Digne

ART-O-RAMA 2012

Vue d'exposition
© Marjolaine Turpin

Pour ART-O-RAMA 2012, la galerie Jeanine Hofland présentera une installation composée d’un film en diptyque Rassembler & Fouiller et réalisé en 2011 par l’artiste française Rebecca Digne (née en 1982 à Marseille).

L’installation consiste en deux écrans grandeur nature et un projecteur 16 mm. Les films, tous deux projetés en une boucle continue, montrent des mains qui collectent (Rassembler) et qui cherchent (Fouiller), de manière rapide des objets. Ces gestes, nés des images, ré-activent de manière métaphorique des émotions tels que l’évasion, le rejet ou la peur. Des émotions qui renvoient
au nomadisme, un thème récurrent dans le travail de Rebecca Digne
et qui provient de son histoire personnelle.

L’intention de l’artiste est de présenter ces deux films comme deux entités autonomes afin de créer un dialogue direct et démocratique entre l’image, l’architecture du lieu et le spectateur, dans l’optique de renforcer la co-production du sens de l’image à travers tous les éléments qui l’environnent.

Dans ses courtes réalisations, tournées en 16 mm en une prise, l’artiste française semble isoler des moments simples du quotidien pour les transformer en des tableaux au fort impact visuel. La boucle continue sur toute la durée de l’exposition, suspend le spectateur dans un état qui oscille entre l’infini et l’insaisissable. En rappel aux portraits cinématographiques méditatifs du réalisateur Andreï Tarkovski, Rebecca Digne construit un espace atemporel de reflexion où l’objet est repensé autrement.